Backer Rod Dreads...

N

neonstorm7

Hey guys, I've seen a few posts about backer rod dreads and asking how to make 'em. I'm by no means an expert or pro, but I just wanted to throw together a quick and dirty on how I made my backer rod dreads.

Materials required:

Backer rod
Scissors
Stove burner

NOTE: This tutorial includes two dangerous elements: heat, and sharp things. Do not touch the burner while it's hot, and don't run with the scissors.

1. Trim backer rod to length

***EDIT**************************************** Pirkleations/Dave sent me a way he figured out that seems like it may work better:

I tried out a couple of Dred shaping methods including yours from the huntorial, which worked really well. Thanks!!
I'd like to suggest the heated cookie sheet method as another option. The heated sheet kept a consistent amount of heat on the dred tip an I rolled it back and
forth on the sheet surface(using an oven mitt and I got a very clean, smooth and tapered tip as a result in about 30 seconds. This was with 5/8 inch backer rod.

It sounds like this yields better results than my way, so you may wanna try it first. Now, back to my old-fashioned way.

2. Heat stove (I used HIGH to get it done ASAP, but start lower if need be.)

3. Hold backer rod at an angle toward the heated burner. This allows the tip to heat more than the body, causing it to shrink more. (You may also trim the rod to a taper ahead of time with the scissors, to get a smoother tip. If you don't, the tip will be kinda wrinkly, but I think it looks more realistic this way.) Keep rotating the rod above the heat to keep it evenly heated. This doesn't take long, so watch it closely. You'll see it starting to shrink up, hopefully more at the tip.

Predator023Small.jpg