Favorite/least Favorite Clay?

XilianX2010

Blooded
Hey guys! Long time no see! I'm kicking into high gear and getting back to my Predator costume, but I wanted to ask you guys a question, what are some of your favorite/least favorite clay mediums and brands you have used? Ones that you guys love and use all the time, and maybe some you've tried and it didn't quite satisfied? Water based or Oil based?

I'm asking because I want to give different clay mediums a try, and see the ones you guys recommend and ones to look out for. Any maybe the different clay mediums you use for different projects like masks, bios, or mold walls. 

Thanks guys!

-Abby

ZombiXenoHunter

Young Blood
I'm pretty new to sculpture myself, I first got to try my hand at it in high school and loved it, but hadn't touched it until a couple months ago
(10 years). Right off the hop when I decided I was going to get back into it I bought 20lbs of Chavant NSP medium, sulphur free oil based clay. I had checked out a few forums on the web and this was recommended to me because it can be used for large or small projects and because it is sulphur free it releases easily from molding materials like silicone. looking back on it knowing what I know about the clay now and its consistency if I was to buy more I would probably go with the same brand of clay, but firmer. The firmer clay holds detail better, and if you find it's too hard to work with all you have to do is heat it up.

XilianX2010

Blooded
I hear Chavant is very popular. I bought Monster Maker clay awhile back because I heard it was similar. I feel unsatisfied with a lot of the oil based clay mediums I've used than the the water based because oil based always seems to be too hard. I could never work with it during the winter, because the it would always stay cold. 

Is clay easier to work with and apply detail when it's softer?

ZombiXenoHunter

Young Blood