I Dred... therefore, I am!

S

Shataan

Hyas all. nOOb here. I decided to get a start on my Dreads. Looked at quite a few threads on how to do it, and what to use. Decided to try that backing rod. So far I could only find it in 1" Grey color. But will keep looking for Black. I am sure I will find some. Grey is ok for experiementing. Pretty cost effective stuff.

10 feet cost 5 bucks here. Not bad. I 1st cut 2 feet of material. Then I took it to the table mounted belt sander and shaped to from about midway to the end for the taper.

Then it was off to the stove. Tricky? Yes. I basicly picked a good height and used a slow turning/rolling technique. This way it stays uniform heatwise to the Dread surface. I can see that it would be VERY easy to wreck a Dread.

Moving right along. How to color the Grey and make it Black? I have a fantastic airbrush artist buddy for reference. Him and another at the shop today suggested SEM. SEM is used for coloring/painting soft surfaces like dashboards etc. It apparently is forgiving enough and does not crack when used on pliable surfaces. So I picked up SEM Landau Black. After it dries I will give it a test and see how true this is. And as well see how well it can be used on a soft foam Dread. Will it adhere? And stay adhered to the foam? altho if I can find the Black stuff, this won`t be an ussue.

Anywho, here is a pic of it right after I sprayed it. All critiques welcome.

xs.to/xs.php?h=xs66&d=060...age002.jpg

I am going to make my rings out of Tagua nut, and carve them. When I get 3 done for this Dread, I will post to see what you think. Thx again.

T

The Mortal Immortal

Keep it up nice taper.

Just when you think you have it all!!!!
profile2.jpg

S

Shataan

Thx. Much appreciated. The SEM IS indeed flexible btw. And does not crack or anything. It is like the foam came in a black color. If anyone here knows what length I should make the Dreads, please fill me in. I am gonna make em 24" for now.