P1 lifesize head sculpt (wip)

Discussion in 'Predator Costumes' started by Mx10, Mar 23, 2018.

1. Mx10

Mx10 Unblooded

So I started this project quiet a while ago and after two years of not being able to work too much on it, mainly because of life getting in the way (and a good amount of procrastination:whistle:).Today I finally got around to being close to finishing the sculpt, but before attempting to mold it, I just wanted to share the sculpt in here to see if the lair approves it :D and also to ask for some advice on how to make a two-part mold for a latex predator head (head+ mandibles) since its my first attempt at this and I have already found some horror stories about molding on other forums..
    IMG_20180323_151044482_zpsuk5kkedi.jpg IMG_20180323_150847807%201_zpsxicwj9ie.jpg IMG_20180323_151017732_zpsm3m22hjx.jpg IMG_20180323_150959881_zpsnfabpqd8.jpg

Fayne, Vebo1, predtrooper and 2 others like this.
  2. LunaticNic

LunaticNic Hunter

Absolutley amazing job on the sculpt!!!!
    Regarding molding, you'll want to remove all teeth, and the bottom mandibles (I used dental floss to get very clean cuts for the mandibles) and mold them separately in silicone to cast in resin. For the rest of the head you'll want to do a stone or resin 2 piece mold. Stone makes latex cure faster, but the resin mold will hold details longer.
    Hope that was helpful :)

Fayne and Shogun like this.
  3. Tallon

Tallon Blooded

Oh, Nick, you've finally found a 1:1 scale soulmate sculptor :p:p:p

Incredible work Mx10!!! :D:D:D(y)(y)(y)(y)(y)(y)

Shogun likes this.
  4. Mx10

Mx10 Unblooded

Thanks for the kind words guys :D still need to fix some things on the sculpt before I can call it finished.
    Never heard of a resin mold, I always thought stone was the only way to go, but resin seems like a better material overall, so I guess I will have to search more about it.
    Thanks for the help!!(y)

Shogun and LunaticNic like this.
  5. Shogun

Shogun Hunter