specs on avp shuriken

• Thread starter BaitysBlacksmithing
  • Start date
B

BaitysBlacksmithing

Hey guys, just wondering if anyone has dimensions for an AVP shuriken. I'd like to make a static one out of steel and see how it throws.

N

Nosfearatu

Sorry cant help you with dimensions, but from seeing the movie I can tell you it's probably too big to throw normally. I have some experience with throwing shuriken, and the predator one just seems to big. You could maybe try to make it smaller but it would have to be very precise because of the balance. If one 'point' is heavier than the others it simply will not 'fly'.

B

BaitysBlacksmithing

I figure they would be thrown kind of like a cross between a chakram and an axe. As its swung the fingers are rolled out putting a slight spin on it. Then with practice muscle memory remembers how much torque for x amount of spins for so much distance from the target. I'd seriously like to try it squirrel hunting.

N

Nosfearatu

You could, but you would have to give the squirrel a weapon too, or it is NOT an even match.

B

BaitysBlacksmithing

lol, you ever have on climb up your pants while on deerstand.....they can be mean. Actually your advice has been taken to heart, I may try to throw one but wouldn't advise it to just everybody. If it don't throw nice it can always be used as a slashing weapon.

N

Nosfearatu

I wouldnt know, I never hunt small animals (nor big ones for that matter), I mean what would you need a dead squirrel for? I assume not for the meat, and it's hardly any sport killing such a small animal. It's your choice ofcourse but please don't tell me it's just for "fun".
On with shuriken throwing, you could ofcourse throw it, but it will never be precise if it isnt balanced, it will always go in a different direction than you intended

B

BaitysBlacksmithing